Urban Design Awards

GDPC has an annual tradition of honoring outstanding planning and development of projects in our five categories:

  • Built Project Award
  • Dream/Study Project Award
  • Kessler Award
  • Dunnigan Media Award
  • Urban Pioneer Award


The 2017 UDA reception was held on Thursday, November 30, from 6-9:30 pm at the Latino Cultural Center. See event photos here. 


Benefactors & Supporters

  • Halff Associates, Inc.
  • JHP  Architecture / Urban Design
  • Lawton
  • Savorista Café
  • Allison+Partners
  • Arredondo, Zepeda & Brunz, LLC
  • Bagley Associates
  • Catalyst Urban Development
  • Cedar Hill EDC - WTC Performance Group
  • Cemetrics
  • City Centric Planning
  • City of Dallas
  • Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity
  • Diverse Global Strategies
  • DRW Planning Studio LLC
  • HKS Inc.
  • Kimley-Horn
  • Metro Development Consulting
  • North Central Texas Council of Governments
  • Tharp Planning Group
  • Winstead PC


Built Project Award Winner:

Tyler Station


Design/Firm/Parties of Interest: Options Real Estate Investment, Inc. / Tyler Station LLC, JQAQ Atelier LLC (architect & tenant)

Honorable Mention: Cityline (City of Richardson) 

Honorable Mention: Lorenzo Hotel (Merriman Anderson Architects & Hamilton Properties)

Dream Award Winner:

McKinney – Cole 


Dunnigan Media Award Winner:

Jim Schutze 


Kessler Award Winner:

Preservation Dallas


Pioneer Award Winner:

Steven Duong


 Built Project Award - A Project that:

  • Was completed within the last five years
  • Improves the character, sense of place and fabric of the community, and has, or has the potential to, catalyze positive change in the built environment as a result of the project
  • Contributes to the public realm while also enhancing the transition from public to private space
  • Creates a successful public space

Dream/Study Project Award - A Project or Plan that:

  • Exemplifies best practice in urban design
  • Employs innovative strategies to improve the quality of place and quality of life in the community
  • If built or implemented, would embody the criteria for the Built Awards
  • Would be an asset to the community

Kessler Award - An Individual or Group that:

  • Demonstrates a lasting and significant commitment along with sustained sensitivity to the urban environment - clearly contributing towards great urban design and sustainability
  • Demonstrates continued influence and sets an example for others to emulate
  • Prior recipients of the Kessler Award are not eligible

Dunnigan Media Award - An Individual or Group that:

  • Demonstrates excellence in reporting in any media on issues affecting quality growth of the region
  • Advances the dialogue around sound urban planning and design in the region
  • Represents any media - print, television, video, radio or social media

Urban Pioneer Award - An Individual or Group that:

  • Exemplifies risk-taking and innovation in the field
  • Promotes and advocates for new and innovative change in the urban environment and/or community advocacy
  • Exhibited extraordinary initiative and impact within a recent timeframe - "up and coming"

Complete instructions for nominations and general submission requirements can be downloaded here.


Urban Design Awards Presentations

2016 UDA Presentation
2015 UDA Presentation
2014 UDA Presentation